Hack Mac - Forums: Locked Macbook Pro - Hack Mac - Forums

Jump to content

Welcome to the HackMac.org forums. You are currently viewing the boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to the features of our site. If you want to have full access to our forums and be able to post new topics, private message other users, and much more, you can register for free. Join us today!
  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Locked Macbook Pro 2nd hand school computer

#1 User is offline   igor 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 17-May 12

Posted 17 May 2012 - 05:22 AM

I have a Macbook Pro that i bought 2nd hand off a shady character in a pub. It has a college name on it which i can't quite make out and when I try to make changes it needs an administrator name and password. Clearly I don't have a startup disc etc. and I have tried rebooting and holding down command S but it takes me to a login user name and password (which i was issued with...thankfully).
I tried removing some Ram and rebooting while holding down on CMD+Option+P+R but a lock appears onscreen with a password box underneath.
Does anyone have any suggestions that can help me as i would like to be in full control and I can't even connect to internet as things stand.
Its running on MAC OS X Version 10.7.2 and its a 15" Macbook Pro.
PS. Sorry if this has already been covered - i am new to this
0

#2 User is offline   Josh Fletcher 

  • HackMac.org Regular
  • Posts: 675
  • Joined: 04-May 11

Posted 18 May 2012 - 11:34 PM

You say you have a username and password, but it's asking you for admin permission, I take it your user isn't an admin?
0

#3 User is offline   igor 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 17-May 12

Posted 19 May 2012 - 01:11 AM

View PostJosh Fletcher, on 18 May 2012 - 11:34 PM, said:

You say you have a username and password, but it's asking you for admin permission, I take it your user isn't an admin?


No you guessed right ......I'm only a user with no admin rights!! I can't even reboot with OS disc as it asks for admin name and admin password.
0

#4 User is offline   HellsBadAss 

  • HackMac.org Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Posts: 458
  • Joined: 26-January 12

Posted 19 May 2012 - 02:35 AM

Wait so why can't you use SUM?

If you can gain access, just create a new admin account with the command
/sbin/mount -uw /

followed by :
launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.opendirectoryd.plist

And finally:
passwd

Then, enter your new root password when prompted twice. After the password has been reset, type:
restart

And hit return/enter.







0

#5 User is offline   igor 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 17-May 12

Posted 19 May 2012 - 02:50 AM

View PostHellsBadAss, on 19 May 2012 - 02:35 AM, said:

Wait so why can't you use SUM?

If you can gain access, just create a new admin account with the command
/sbin/mount -uw /

followed by :
launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.opendirectoryd.plist

And finally:
passwd

Then, enter your new root password when prompted twice. After the password has been reset, type:
restart

And hit return/enter.









SUM does not register....unfortunately.
I restart macbook, press Command S and it doesn't register it just takes me to a user login.
It is locked with a firmware password so I either need to have an admin name and password (which I don't have) or a firmware password (again....don't have.
My password user name has no admin privileges....I have tried.
I even need admin user and pword to reboot with OS X disc!!!

PS. GREAT LOGO!!
0

#6 User is offline   HellsBadAss 

  • HackMac.org Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Posts: 458
  • Joined: 26-January 12

Posted 19 May 2012 - 05:08 AM

Hmm... Thats odd....

here are a couple of tutorials that could help...

http://www.hackmac.o...locked-in-os-x/
http://www.hackmac.o...-administrator/

PS: Thanks!
PPS: do you have Skype?
0

#7 User is offline   igor 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 17-May 12

Posted 19 May 2012 - 05:48 AM

View PostHellsBadAss, on 19 May 2012 - 05:08 AM, said:

Hmm... Thats odd....

here are a couple of tutorials that could help...

http://www.hackmac.o...locked-in-os-x/
http://www.hackmac.o...-administrator/

PS: Thanks!
PPS: do you have Skype?


Thanks for you efforts...I'm locked out of everything that the tutorials suggest. My 2nd hand macbook is firmware locked and doesn't register with removing RAM, resetting PRAM or booting in SUM....sounds like I got what I paid for !!!!
I have looked/searched online and there are suggestions that a 2011 macbook pro running on intel can't bypass firmware password...but i'm not giving up.
Cheers again

PS as for skype... at this point I'm running to internet cafes as My mac won't let me connect without admin password.......
0

#8 User is offline   HellsBadAss 

  • HackMac.org Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Posts: 458
  • Joined: 26-January 12

Posted 19 May 2012 - 06:00 AM

ok the last thing i can think of is can't you bring it into the applestore? It costs some money if it isn't under warranty but the genius bar can fix anything, and the first 15 mins are free so worth the try :)

ps lol
0

#9 User is offline   igor 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 17-May 12

Posted 19 May 2012 - 06:08 AM

View PostHellsBadAss, on 19 May 2012 - 06:00 AM, said:

ok the last thing i can think of is can't you bring it into the applestore? It costs some money if it isn't under warranty but the genius bar can fix anything, and the first 15 mins are free so worth the try :)

ps lol


That sounds like some good advice!!!
Cheers for your responses.
0

#10 User is offline   Xavier 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 24-May 12

Posted 25 May 2012 - 12:39 AM

Folks to get the hash off the screen its

1, Hold Option on boot up
and then when you see the lockpad asking for firmware hold down

2. Command+Control+Option+Shift+S
You’ll see a 33 digit hash number like C02150502DKDY5DANC910AE21EA171E6D

Any ideas on how to crack this? It could be a obfuscation of your password
0

#11 User is offline   igor 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 17-May 12

Posted 25 May 2012 - 06:58 AM

View PostXavier, on 25 May 2012 - 12:39 AM, said:

Folks to get the hash off the screen its

1, Hold Option on boot up
and then when you see the lockpad asking for firmware hold down

2. Command+Control+Option+Shift+S
You’ll see a 33 digit hash number like C02150502DKDY5DANC910AE21EA171E6D

Any ideas on how to crack this? It could be a obfuscation of your password


Xavier This has got me intrigued....I will go try this even if i have absolutely no idea how to crack the hash number.
Cheers

Well, THIS IS WHAT CAME UP:
C021 36201 SBDRN6AAA74EC9BFFD77625A
0

#12 User is offline   Xavier 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 24-May 12

Posted 25 May 2012 - 06:25 PM

View Postigor, on 25 May 2012 - 06:58 AM, said:

Xavier This has got me intrigued....I will go try this even if i have absolutely no idea how to crack the hash number.
Cheers

Well, THIS IS WHAT CAME UP:
C021 36201 SBDRN6AAA74EC9BFFD77625A


maybe forumhero could help us :please:
0

#13 User is offline   igor 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 17-May 12

Posted 26 May 2012 - 12:25 AM

View PostXavier, on 25 May 2012 - 06:25 PM, said:

maybe forumhero could help us :please:


fingers crossed!!!!
0

#14 User is offline   smithmichael 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 27-May 12

Posted 27 May 2012 - 06:20 AM

hey Xavier you copied my post word for word from the jersey repair website. anyhow good to know many people searching.

folks the first 17 digits are the mac logic board. if you open your mac up you will see it on the RAM chip. The last 16 digit is message digest. Only a few hashes Oracle, Cisco and mysql have 16 digit digest ... so it has me stumped.


All Apple does is run a program off these numbers...if we can only understand the encryption method.
0

#15 User is offline   Josh Fletcher 

  • HackMac.org Regular
  • Posts: 675
  • Joined: 04-May 11

Posted 05 June 2012 - 05:20 AM

ForumHero actually just made a post over here with the link to a site explaining how to easily decrypt the password, and on there is another link to the google site with the code.
0

#16 User is offline   FourAM 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 18-June 12

Posted 18 June 2012 - 06:01 AM

Since I had to get my new Macbook Pro unlocked through techs the other day, I have some insight on how this process works.

Newer machines (2011 and newer) no longer use the EFI password technique shown on the other site.

The firmware password is now stored directly on a chip on the motherboard and it is not possible to read the code out or decrypt it. The "swapping/changing" the memory to unlock also does not work.

Apple has significantly upgraded their firmware security to make it very difficult for locked computers to be used without authorization. Apple will not unlock computers without proof that you own the machine (serial number registered to your name).

Here's the process:
  • Tech gets the hash from the lock screen with the secret keypress above.
  • Tech emails the hash to Apple as the local reps do not have the utility needed to unlock.
  • Apple's in-house support takes the hash and generates a small "keyfile" that is sent back to the tech.
  • Keyfile is loaded on a USB stick, and inserted into the computer, which is then rebooted with option key held down
  • Computer detects the keyfile, removes the password and reboots


It's not possible to enter the unlock code manually, it only works by reading the keyfile from the USB stick. The keyfile is approx 350 bytes and looks like raw binary data (tech showed me the file, but I couldn't get a copy of it).

Unless you have the skills and ability to remove and replace the surface-mount firmware chip on the motherboard, there doesn't seem to be a current way to unlock these machines.
1

#17 User is offline   zenmaster 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 19-July 12

Posted 19 July 2012 - 06:16 PM

I have the same problem, and have been doing some investigation.

Is it possible, apple are using the "Security Register" feature of the atmel bios chip

http://pdf1.alldatas...021D-SSH-B.html

I dont think this is the actual chip found on 2011 macs, but similar.

Its interesting to note that the security register is broken into 2 sections.

"The device contains a specialized Security Register that can be used for purposes such as
unique device serialization or locked key storage. The register is comprised of a total of
128 bytes that is divided into two portions. The first 64 bytes (byte locations 0 through 63) of the
Security Register are allocated as a one-time user programmable space. Once these 64 bytes
have been programmed, they cannot be reprogrammed. The remaining 64 bytes of the register
(byte locations 64 through 127) are factory programmed by Atmel and will contain a unique
value for each device. The factory programmed data is fixed and cannot be changed"

This somehow matches the hash generated using the previous posters message.

1) First 17 digits = mac logic board (fixed of course - as per atmel chip
2) 16 digit HEX number fixed by the factory ??

It would be interesting for someone to test by someone creating a EFI password, getting the hash, then changing the EFI password, get the hash again and see if the hash changes.

If so, we can assume that second set (16 digit) is related to the password. If the hash doesnt changed, then it would appear that this hash is set at the factory.

I suspect, going by what I read, is that the hash is fixed, hence the need to get apple to fix (as per last post)


Anyways, let me know if anyone can confirm if the hash is fixed or not (i cant test as my mac is locked)


Best
0

#18 User is offline   igor 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 17-May 12

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:39 PM

Go Zenmaster...I'm holding my breath.Obviously mine is locked as well!
0

#19 User is offline   marianov 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 15-August 12

Posted 16 August 2012 - 12:00 AM

Igor, you got some news about this problem?
0

#20 User is offline   igor 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 17-May 12

Posted 17 August 2012 - 07:36 AM

View Postmarianov, on 16 August 2012 - 12:00 AM, said:

Igor, you got some news about this problem?


Sorry Marianov,
nothing more than you have read here on the forum.......I'm still hoping but so far nothing.
0

Share this topic:


  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

4 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users